2013 New Years Predictions?

“I’ll certainly try to get comparisons out in a speedier fashion this year!”

… Said the worst webmaster ever.

Welp, I sure made 2012 a pretty pathetic year for this lil’ fansite of mine.  College and life got in the way, blah, blah, blah, excuses, excuses.  Of course, as of now, I’m officially a college graduate!  :D  So now I’ll either have to buckle down and make this site a bigger priority or find a new excuse for my laziness.  The only upside is that I only got four comparisons completed in 2012, so it shouldn’t be too hard for me to “beat my record” this year.

Although I haven’t posted anything new, I have been tweaking the site during my absence.  Check out the new, improved layout for the DVD Directory, for example.

Oh, I did start a brand new project about half-way through last year, but it has nothing to do with Detective Conan.  I’m not sure if any Digimon fans are reading right now, but if anyone’s interested, I’d like to invite you to check out Magic’s DiGiMONMUSiC Database.  I love importing Digimon CDs, so I wrote myself a little “buyer’s guide” since there really isn’t a single useful Digimon Discography on the entire internet.  Once I was done, I figured I might was well put it online for other people to use!  I completely copied the layout I chose for this site, but I’m really pleased with how it turned out.  And don’t worry, it won’t compete with this site for attention, because it’s actually finished.  That’s right, I actually *finished* a project for once!  Aren’t you proud?

Okay, enough self-promotion.  Since it’s January 1st, I figured now would be the best time to give my now-annual New Year’s predictions for Detective Conan!  But first, let’s see how my “predictions” for 2012 turned out.

Aoyama will keep spitting out new manga chapters.  I suspect nothing major will develop in the main plot.

Hmmm, did anything major happen in the manga this year?  I realize now that this was kind of a silly prediction to make considering I don’t regularly follow the manga’s progression in Japan.  I don’t think anything particularly amazing happened; I don’t remember any news blowout or anything.

TMS will keep spitting out new episodes, our annual OVA, our annual Magic File movie tie-in, and our obligatory annual feature film.

I was pretty much right on the money here.  The TV anime kept airing as usual.  “The Eleventh Striker” came and went, with a brand new “Magic File” side-story to compliment it.  One OVA came out.  There was also one new live-action special this year, along with six new Magic Kaito specials (if those count).

Absolutely nothing interesting will be announced regarding music releases.

I was dead-on here.  Two opening theme CD singles and three ending theme CD singles were released, along with a soundtrack for Movie 16 and a single for that film’s ending theme.  And… that was it.  The usual routine.  We did get a CD Drama this year, though, and that was pretty unexpected.  I suppose that’s technically not a “music release,” but I’m still willing to say I was half-wrong because I really didn’t see that coming at all.

Now that all of the feature films have been released on Blu-Ray in Japan, the only high-definition home video release I expect to see for this series is for “The Eleventh Striker” (in seperate “regular” and “special” editions for both DVD and Blu-Ray).  On DVD, the series will continue with its four-episode-per-disc “Part X” releases.  In December, we’ll get another two additions to the “DVD Selection” series, featuring volumes for Sato and Takagi and either Inspector Megure or Professor Agasa.

I was right about the blu-rays.  All we got was “Eleventh Striker” getting a “regular” and “special” edition.  On DVD, the series received ten “Part 20” volume releases, three live-action releases, and three Magic Kaito releases.  I was dead wrong about the “DVD Selection” discs, though.  We didn’t get any character volumes at all!  We did get a “Soccer Selection” disc to promote Movie 16, but nothing else.

FUNimation will announce absolutely nothing for 2012.

Yup.  Moving on…

Viz will release their quarterly volumes of the English manga, but nothing else (guide books, art books, etc.) will be announced.

Yup.

The Wii game will never make it to America, despite being fully translated and dubbed.

And… yup.

So really, Japan kept going as usual (though they did shake things up a little with the CD Drama), while absolutely nothing happened stateside.  Seriously, I don’t say this often, folks, but thank goodness for Viz.  At least we’re getting the most important part of this franchise translated and released in America.  I’d prefer a monthly schedule (or even every two months), but I’ll take what I can get at this point.

So what do I think will happen in 2013?  About the same, actually.  Some of FUNi’s reps appeared on an AnimeNewsNetwork podcast recently and confirmed (once again) that FUNi simply isn’t touching this series anymore.  Viz already has its quarterly manga volumes up for pre-order on websites, so we know those are coming (again, thank goodness).  And now that the Wii U is here, any and all hope of getting “The Mirapolis Investigation” in the good ol’ U-S-of-A is lost.

On the Japanese side, I’m pretty much keeping my predictions from last year.  At this point, we know what we’re getting: Manga chapters, TV Episodes, a feature film, an OVA, a Magic File, DVD volumes, a DVD/Blu-Ray for the feature film, and some CD singles.  I do hope they mix it up with the music releases this year, though.  I’d love a new background music collection.  I guess the only prediction I’ll change is the “DVD Selection” one.  Since this year’s movie seems to be about the ocean and battleships, I predict we’ll get some sort of “Sea Selection” DVD with some of the series’ most popular water-based episodes.

Happy New Year!

– MagicBox

  1. #1 by Bryce on January 2, 2013 - 3:24 PM

    I don’t think the manga was uneventful in 2012. I too stopped following the manga for a while, but when I picked it back up, Bourbon was finally revealed, as well as a hint that Akai is still alive, in 820-830 chapter range known as Bell Tree Express. Anyway, I was hoping that you would continue the comparisons. I have some episodes that I really question whether it was Japan’s fault or FUNimation’s, which I have covered in my episode reviews.

  2. #2 by ManyFaces on January 14, 2013 - 10:04 PM

    Wow, I can’t believe it’s almost been a year since you last posted anything. You’re right, you are a terrible webmaster! ;). It’s nice to see that you’re back, though. Thought you might have moved on (yeah, what was I thinking?).

    You know what? I think you should expand your website to include manga reviews. Think about it. I’d definitely be willing to read and reply and I’m sure others would too. I think there’s potential for some good discussions in doing that.

    Here’s my one and only prediction:

    Discotek will announce that they’ve obtained Detective Conan and will release subtitled sets!

    I really think that could happen. FUNimation’s license over DC has got to be coming to an end here soon.

    Great job on the new layout, by the way. Very well done.

    • #3 by Bryce on January 15, 2013 - 3:10 PM

      Not too sure about that, ManyFaces. I am covering the volumes that Viz released and/or releases and I get more traffic to the Negima! manga volumes and Inuyasha: The Final and Detective Conan (Case Closed) anime than I do the for the Detective Conan manga. MagicBox may fair better than me though. Anyway, it has been a while since we last talked, hasn’t it? Not too sure if you remember me, like you remember MagicBox.

  3. #4 by ManyFaces on January 15, 2013 - 8:50 PM

    Well, his site is pretty popular. If he did reviews regularly, I’m sure he’d be able to get a few people to jump in.

    And of course I remember you, shinichi. How have you been?

    • #5 by Bryce on January 16, 2013 - 12:12 AM

      Yeah, that is true. I get a few hits to my blog from this site too, not too sure if you visited though, but I have a review for your favorite case, if it still is, that should going live tomorrow, if you have visited it.

      AstroNerdBoy was impressed with my catch in a book review I did there and an author highly praise a review I did his book.

      I am doing good. I graded with a degree in Computing Information and Technology, wrote 5 books, wrote 2 apps for Android and iOS, and even bought the domain name, which you see as my link in the comments, last year.

      Anyway, I still have the same email if you want to find me on Google+ or something.

  4. #6 by MagicBox on January 17, 2013 - 12:40 AM

    It’s good to hear from you guys again! I was worried people would have stopped visiting the site. Not that I’ve given anyone a good reason to visit lately in the first place…

    I’ve certainly put a lot of consideration into doing manga comparisons, but I simply don’t have the money or Japanese fluency to do so. I’m able to do the episode/movie comparisons perfectly fine because 1.) FUNimation provides great (but not perfect) subtitles on their DVDs, and 2.) I actually do know a teeny, tiny bit of spoken Japanese.

    The manga, though, is a whole other ball park. Importing the Japanese volumes to use for comparison would be a very costly endeavor. Besides, the only (and I mean ONLY) piece of *written* Japanese I can understand is “の,” and I can assure you that won’t help me at all. I’d have to either get someone to do all the work for me or resort to getting scan-lations, both of which I refuse to do. Thankfully, Viz does such a fantastic job with the manga that I wouldn’t have too much to write about even if I could. And even then, I’m not sure I’d do any better than Bryce.

    I do have the very first Japanese volume, though, for collector’s purposes, so maybe I’ll try to see how much I can manage once I’ve completed the episodes/movies. And we’ll probably all be dead before then, anyway.

    Oh, and I’ve been dreaming of a Discotek release for years. They’ve done wonders with Lupin. One can dream…

    • #7 by Bryce on January 17, 2013 - 1:49 AM

      Honestly, I have been waiting for you to resume for a while. After all, I had to resort to DCW to determine whether cases were in the manga or only the anime.

      I can’t read either Chinese or Japanese myself either, but they at least tell what was and not in originally in English.

      As for the rest of statement on the manga, I am not sure what to say. Do you mean numbers or have you been to my blog, MagicBox?

      Anyway, I wish you were on G+ or Twitter, or something, so I don’t need to wait for your comparisons. After all, DCW got marked as a malicious site once already.

  5. #8 by ManyFaces on January 17, 2013 - 2:19 PM

    You misunderstood me. I wasn’t talking about comparisons. Just a straight up review of the latest volume. Y’know, what you liked about it and whatnot.

    I sent you an email, Bryce.

    • #9 by Bryce on January 17, 2013 - 2:32 PM

      I just saw the the email, thanks for letting me know.

      It would definitely be easier to do the latest volume. After all, that was where I started back up on the series. Of course, now that I have read volumes 27-44, I have pretty much caught up to Viz. It is still the same problem though. In fact, I was receiving traffic to manga volume 35, when people wanted the Mountain Villa Murder Case, but not too much more traffice for the detective conan manga.

  6. #10 by MagicBox on January 21, 2013 - 10:13 PM

    Ah, gotcha. Honest-to-goodness reviews hadn’t really crossed my mind. I mean, don’t get me wrong, everyone knows that I just *love* to ramble, but I don’t really think this would be a great place to put that kind of content. From the beginning, I’ve had only one real purpose for making this site: detailing everything related to the TV series’ journey from Japan to America. So while I know there’s a ton of cool stuff I could add like manga reviews (which I guess *could* happen if I decide to commit to manga comparisons sometime), I don’t know if any of that would really contribute to this site’s “mission statement,” so to speak.

    It’s definitely something to keep in mind for future projects, though. And I try to talk about the manga as much as I can in my “Episode Thoughts” sections of each comparison.

  7. #11 by Jackson_H on February 26, 2013 - 9:06 PM

    Sorry to bump an old topic but I think this is an interesting bit of news.

    Funimation might (finally) stream episodes on their website

    http://www.fandompost.com/oldforums/showthread.php?19915-Case-Closed-%28Detective-Conan%29

    • #12 by MagicBox on February 26, 2013 - 9:10 PM

      Very interesting if true. I’d be curious as to which video masters they’d use for the dub streaming if this becomes a reality. Thanks for the heads up! It’s definitely something to keep an eye on.

      • #13 by Conan Edogawa on March 6, 2013 - 2:59 AM

        Subbed episodes 1 and 2 are now available on the official website. They’ll be available for free viewing staring on March 22.

    • #14 by Bryce on February 28, 2013 - 11:17 AM

      I just checked out the link and apparently, it is not going to be streaming after all, though if they did I hope they use the original masters, because some of the remastered footage does not follow the manga counterparts.

      Anyway, it’s almost been a month, MagicBox, are you working still on your comparisons? I am almost finishing up reviews for FUNimation’s second season, and even reviewed manga volume 45, and Detective Conan World seems to be the only thing I can use as a reference right now.

      I know you have your own issues and stuff, I just want to know that you have not completely forgotten about this place.

  8. #15 by Jackson_H on March 11, 2013 - 5:07 AM

    Actually they did go through with streaming after all. :)

    First couple subbed episodes are now available for Elite Video Subscribers. More episodes will eventually be uploaded and eventually free streaming too.

    • #16 by Bryce on March 11, 2013 - 4:11 PM

      They certainly did. I wonder how they will cover the original three extended length episodes. Of course, episode 96 (Japanese count) will probably be streamed like it was released in the season 4 set. I saw the Save Case Closed page mention something about and thought it was, like I did here.

  9. #17 by MagicBox on March 11, 2013 - 3:38 PM

    Bryce, while I can assure you that I haven’t forgotten about this site (it’s looming over my head every day!), I’m afraid I’m never in a position where I can truly promise updates at a given time. :(

    As for all the streaming news, thanks for keeping me up to date, everybody! I would have never known about this if you guys hadn’t said anything. I would love to be able to take screenshots of the dub video if FUNi uses it.

  10. #18 by Bryce on April 2, 2013 - 5:48 PM

    Not sure if anyone noticed, but it looks like FUNimation is going to be making the series available for digital purchase. details can be found at the following web address.

    http://www.funimation.com/lee/blog/watch-case-closed-online/7592285

    • #19 by Conan Edogawa on April 2, 2013 - 11:01 PM

      Wow, 2013 has been a really great year for Case Closed so far. The show is not only going digital, but it’s also being heavily advertised with a new trailer and as Funimation.com’s new background image. It may not seem like much, but I don’t think this series has been given this much attention by Funi in years. Makes me wonder if they’re going to license more episodes or movies soon.

      • #20 by Bryce on April 2, 2013 - 11:34 PM

        Well, it failed because they did not advertise it properly. I am not too sure if anymore will be licensed, but both MagicBox and I will know if any comes up, since I am currently covering FUNimation’s season 3.

  11. #21 by Ivan on June 25, 2013 - 5:45 PM

    Wow Magicbox, i was looking forward to seeing some new comparisons after quite a while from visiting your site and boy was i disappointed. At least you changed your site’s layout. I’m still looking forward to any updates you do whenever you have the time and conscience to do them.

    • #22 by Bryce on July 22, 2013 - 1:11 PM

      He is definitely taking his time, but you have got to remember that he probably has other things going on. I do not think he would enjoy talking about the series so much if expect too much.

Leave a Reply

