Blog Launch & Introduction!

Hello everyone, and welcome to the (second) grand opening of Magic’s Detective Agency! MagicBox here, and I’m really excited to finally be getting this fansite project back off the ground.

Basically, for those of you who kept up with my FreeWebs version of this site, I hit a snag when I realized that the amount of pages/space allotted to my free account had nearly reached its limit, which kind of gets in the way when you’re trying to update a site that focuses on, y’know… posting content. I decided to take time to think about a new approach, but as I started thinking, laziness set in, and before I knew it over a year had passed since my last update. I received a few offers from people kind enough to let me use their own sites to continue posting (and a big “thank you” to those of you who did), but I refused because I really wanted to keep my website as “mine” as possible. Now, don’t get me wrong, FreeWebs has a great site-builder and I really learned a lot from it. It was really just me being too cheap to pay for more space and too stubborn to partner up with other sites.

So now I’m giving WordPress a try since it seems to be the cool thing to do. I really like it so far. I have WAY more available space allotted to my account, and because this is a blogging site, I can dedicate each post to a different episode comparison (images and all) without having to worry about any page limit restrictions. That’ll end up looking way better than the old site, where I just uploaded the comparisons as ugly, sloppy HTML files.

Now that I’ve explained my (overly) long absence, I’m looking forward to uploading content again. I really have been wanting to dedicate a site to this series for a long time now, and I think it offers something that you can’t find anywhere else on the net! All fans of Detective Conan and Case Closed are welcome here, and I think every kind of fan will find something to enjoy.

The main attraction, of course, are the dub/sub comparisons I have provided for the series. I’ll be transferring the existing ones over from my FreeWebs site, and they’ll each be receiving makeovers! I plan on incorporating image comparisons and an overall better look than the lame HTML documents I used before, and my goal is to make everything look as good as the movie comparisons I did for the old site. The blog entries for the episodes/movies will be archived in the “Comparisons” section for easy access, where I’ve divided the episodes up by FUNimation Entertainment’s “season” listings. You guys should even be able to comment on stuff now, too, so it’ll be really fun to receive feedback!

I plan to get the existing episodes and feature films up ASAP, and then I’ll move on with new comparisons. To those of you who have stayed patient, I cannot thank you enough. I’d pretty much completely vanished from the net (even from the forums I used to post on), so I know it was mean to promise content and never deliver. The layout of the site is still being tweaked, so please forgive the unprofessional layout and presentation. I’ll try to have everything up quickly so you can all explore and have some fun!

Thanks to WordPress for the blog! Welcome, readers new and old!

– MagicBox

  1. #1 by Sushiconan on October 14, 2011 - 10:47 PM

    Sushiconan here( Funimation forums). Thank you for making a comeback Magic!

    • #2 by MagicBox on October 16, 2011 - 11:09 PM

      Hey there! Great to see you again. I didn’t expect anyone to realize I was updating again so quickly. It’s nice to hear from you! :)

      • #3 by Sushiconan on October 18, 2011 - 5:53 PM

        Same to you! I always checked your old site, probably about every couple days. I’m glad you’re still doing it, thanks!

      • #4 by MagicBox on October 18, 2011 - 11:55 PM

        Well, I hope to keep updating without such a long hiatus this time. Thanks for always checking back in! Spread the word, I guess! ^_^; I’d love to get more feedback.

      • #5 by Sushiconan on October 19, 2011 - 4:43 PM

        I will! What made you decide to get a new site?

      • #6 by MagicBox on October 19, 2011 - 4:59 PM

        Pretty much the limited space I had on the FreeWebs site. I was simply out of room. So basically, in order to upload new comparisons, I had to get a place where I had more memory. WordPress has really been awesome in that area. I think everything looks way better, and it’s all easier to manage, so it’s been a win-win-win so far!

      • #7 by Sushiconan on October 19, 2011 - 5:43 PM

        That’s good. I can’t wait for new comparisons!

  2. #8 by ManyFaces on October 19, 2011 - 2:26 PM

    I randomly decided to check out your FreeWebs site and saw that it was updated! I immediately thought the world was ending. lol.

    Best of luck with your site and I look forward to reading some new comparisons… soon!

    • #9 by MagicBox on October 19, 2011 - 4:57 PM

      Glad to have you back as a reader, ManyFaces! Things should get more interesting after I finish re-uploading the movies, since I plan on giving the episode pages a complete overhaul (images, actual pages instead of HTML files, etc.). I went back through the films and added some notes/edits/pictures here and there that I forgot to mention the first time around, so there’s a teensy bit of new content in the movie pages as well!

  3. #10 by ManyFaces on October 19, 2011 - 11:14 PM

    Since you’re getting back into this, I thought I would add your website to my signature on FUNi’s forum. I imagine you lost a lot of followers with your long absence, so even though I don’t post much on there, it should still help. Do you plan on posting these on the forums? Please do! The CC sub-forum is a wasteland now. Pretty much just “1 want5 m0Ar Ca5 cLos3d!!^” topics and discussions. It’s pretty boring there; the forum software doesn’t help either — it’s utter garbage — with its slow loading time and glitchy software.

    • #11 by MagicBox on October 20, 2011 - 12:53 AM

      The CC sub-forum was a wasteland of “We want more Case Closed!” LONG before the forum switch. No matter what I posted (dub/sub comparisons, DVD/CD dissections, animation info), it always went back to the same ol’ tired subject. That’s not even limited to FUNi’s Forums; the entire fanbase is like that no matter where I look.

      Sure, I don’t mind if you put me in your sig. I’d be flattered!

  4. #12 by ManyFaces on October 21, 2011 - 12:33 PM

    So, I take it you won’t be going back to FUNi’s new forum then, huh?

    Yea, what you say isn’t an overstatement, but between those “I want more Case Closed” posts, there were still some entertaining threads. I miss those days.

    • #13 by MagicBox on October 22, 2011 - 5:23 PM

      Well, maybe these can help stir up discussion on forums again. I remember a few forums were talking about my project when I first started. Maybe it can reach some new fans!

  5. #14 by KID1412 on December 6, 2011 - 5:17 PM

    Hey, great new website! I was just browsing the FUNi forums for the first time in forever and somebody had a link to this in their sig. It’s great to see that you’re still enthusiastic about this. I’m looking forward to reading all the comparisons you have and will put up! :)

    • #15 by MagicBox on December 10, 2011 - 1:42 PM

      Hey, KID! Great to see you again! I’m hoping to have more content for everyone really soon. I hope you’ve been well!

  6. #16 by Bryce on July 19, 2012 - 12:29 AM

    I know this old but I thought I’d make a reply. I’m not sure you recognize me, but I was also part of the old FUNimation forums. Unlike the others, I been recently reviewing the Case Closed movies on my blog and wanted to find where you were talking about multiple masters and found out that you moved to WordPress, so you might be receiving hits from my blog. Anyway, I’m glad this site is active again.

Leave a Reply

